Hebrew Divisions of the Old Testament

For a more detailed general survey of the Old Testament
download the Bible Knowledge Accelerator #2 from this link

Hebrew Divisions - 24 books total

The Hebrew Old Testament was divided into 3 sections:

The Law (Heb. Torah), or (Gr. Pentateuch), 5 books:
Genesis, Exodus Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy

The Prophets (Heb. Nebhim), 8 books:

Former Prophets - Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings
Latter Prophets - Isaiah , Jeremiah , Ezekiel , The Twelve

The Writings (Heb. Kethubim), 11 books:
Poetical Books - Psalms, Proverbs, Job
Megilloth, 5 Rolls- Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Esther, Ecclesiastes
Historical Books - Daniel , Ezra-Nehemiah, Chronicles.

In the Hebrew Bible:
Genesis (Bershiyt) is the first book and
Chronicles (Dibre Hayamim) is the last book.

In the Christian church the Old Testament books are divided into the following categories:

Historical Books - Genesis to Esther
Wisdom Literature and Poetry - Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, and Lamentations
Prophetic Books - Isaiah to Malachi (excluding Lamentations)

Note: Jesus our Lord made an amazing statement that we can read in the gospel account of Luke. He mentions all the martyrs in the entire Old Testament from Abel to Zechariah which in essence is putting His seal of approval on every Book in the Old Testament. Abel can be found in the first Hebrew Book Genesis (Bershiyt) and Zechariah can be found in the last Book Chronicles (Dibre Hayamim).

Luke 11:51 "from the blood of Abel to the blood of Zechariah who perished between the altar and the temple. Yes, I say to you, it shall be required of this generation.