The Books of the New Testament

John 14:26 - "But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things, and will remind you of all that I said to you."

The New Testament - A Brief Overview

27 Books and 9 Authors
The New Testament contains 27 different books written by nine different authors. Every author of the New Testament was Jewish except for Luke. Three of the writers: Matthew, Peter, and John were among the 12 disciples who walked with Christ during his earthly ministry. Jesus promised his disciples that the Holy Spirit would bring all things to remembrance of what Jesus said and did.

List of the 27 books of the New Testament in order, with English titles and Greek words and meanings.

The New Testament Books
MatthewKata MaththaionAccording to Matthew
MarkKata MarkonAccording to Mark
LukeKata LoukanAccording to Luke
JohnKata IoannenAccording to John
ActsPraxeis ApostolonActs or Deeds of Apostles
RomansPro RomaiousTo the Romans
1 CorinthiansKorinthious aFirst (letter) to the Corinthians
2 CorinthiansKorinthious bSecond (letter) to the Corinthians
GalatiansGalatasTo the Galatians
EphesiansEphesiousTo the Ephesians
PhilippiansPhilippesiousTo the Philippians
ColossiansKolossaeisTo the Colossians
1 ThessaloniansThessalonikeis aFirst (letter) to the Thessalonians
2 ThessaloniansThessalonikeis bSecond (letter) to the Thessalonians
1 TimothyTimotheon aFirst (letter) to Timothy
2 TimothyTimotheon bSecond (letter) to Timothy
TitusTitonTo Titus
PhilemonPhilemonaTo Philemon
HebrewsPros HebraiousTo the Hebrews
JameslakdbouOf James
1 PeterPetrou aFirst (letter) of Peter
2 PeterPetrou bSecond (letter) of Pete
1 JohnIoannou aFirst (letter) of John
2 JohnIoannou bSecond (letter) of John
3 JohnIoannou gThird (letter) of John
RevelationApokalypsis IoannouRevelation of John

Hebrews 8:6 - "But now he has obtained a more excellent ministry, by so much as he is also the mediator of a better covenant, which on better promises has been given as law."