Divisions of the Hebrew Scriptures

2 Timothy 3:16 - All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

Jesus was very aware of these divisions within the Hebrew Torah or Scriptures. In fact he confirmed that "though heaven and earth will pass away, the Scriptures will not pass away." He also said that "the Scriptures cannot be broken."

Jesus put his seal of approval on every book in the Old Testament Scriptures when he said " from the blood of Abel to the blood of Zachariah, who perished between the altar and the sanctuary.' Yes, I tell you, it will be required of this generation." Since Abel was the first martyr in the first book of the Hebrew Scriptures (Genesis), and the Zachariah was the last martyr in the Hebrew Scriptures (Chronicles) Jesus was in essence saying that the whole of Hebrew Scriptures was the word of God.

List of the Divisions in the Hebrew Torah
The Hebrew Scriptures

The Hebrew Scriptures were divided into 3 sections:

-The Law (Torah), or Pentateuch, 5 books:

Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy.

-The Prophets (Nebhim), 8 books:

Former Prophets - Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings

Latter Prophets - Isaiah , Jeremiah , Ezekiel , The Book of the 12

-The Writings (Kethubim), 11 books:

Poetical Books - Psalms, Proverbs, Job

Megilloth, 5 Rolls- Song of Songs, Ruth, Lamentations, Esther, Ecclesiastes

Historical Books - Daniel , Ezra-Nehemiah, Chronicles.

Note: In the Hebrew Bible Genesis (Bershiyt) is the first book and Chronicles (Dibre Hayamim) is the last book.

The Christian Old Testament

The Christian Old Testament books are divided into the following categories:

Historical Books - Genesis to Esther

Wisdom Literature and Poetry - Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, & Lamentations

Prophetic Books - Isaiah to Malachi (excluding Lamentations)

See Old Testament Books

Back to Bible History Online

The Story of the Bible - Part One - The Old Testament