Timeline of the New Testament Books

Timeline of the New Testament Books hero image

The New Testament is a collection of 27 books that tell the story of Jesus Christ and the early Christian church. These books were written over a period of approximately 70 years, from about AD 50 to AD 120. The New Testament is divided into four sections: the Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Epistles, and Revelation.

The Gospels

The Gospels are the four books that tell the story of Jesus' life, death, and resurrection. They are:

  • Matthew
  • Mark
  • Luke
  • John

The four Gospels were written by different authors and have different perspectives on Jesus. However, they all agree on the essential facts of Jesus' life.

The Acts of the Apostles

The Acts of the Apostles is the second book of the New Testament. It tells the story of the early Christian church, from the day of Pentecost until the death of the apostle Paul.

The Acts of the Apostles is a continuation of the story of Jesus told in the Gospels. It shows how Jesus' followers carried on his mission after he was resurrected.

The Epistles

The Epistles are letters written by the apostles to early Christian churches and individuals. They are:

  • Romans
  • 1 Corinthians
  • 2 Corinthians
  • Galatians
  • Ephesians
  • Philippians
  • Colossians
  • 1 Thessalonians
  • 2 Thessalonians
  • 1 Timothy
  • 2 Timothy
  • Titus
  • Philemon
  • Hebrews

The Epistles are a collection of advice, encouragement, and instruction from the apostles to the early Christians. They cover a wide range of topics, including faith, hope, love, sin, and salvation.


Revelation is the last book of the New Testament. It is a book of prophecy that describes the end times.

Revelation is a complex and challenging book to interpret. However, it can be a source of comfort and hope for Christians who believe in the second coming of Jesus Christ.

Here is a timeline of the New Testament books:

  • 50-70 AD: Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John
  • 70-80 AD: Acts of the Apostles
  • 80-90 AD: Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians
  • 90-100 AD: 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon
  • 100-110 AD: Hebrews
  • 110-120 AD: Revelation