Deuteronomy in Smiths Bible Dictionary

--which means "the repetition of the law" --consists chiefly of three discourses delivered by Moses shortly before his death. Subjoined to these discourses are the Song of Moses the Blessing of Moses, and the story of his death. 1. The first discourse. De 1:1 ... 4:40 After a brief historical introduction the speaker recapitulates the chief events of the last forty years in the wilderness. To this discourse is appended a brief notice of the severing of the three cities of refuge on the east side of the Jordan. De 4:41-43 2. The second discourse is introduced like the first by an explanation of the circumstances under which it was delivered. De 4:44-49 It extends from chap. De 5:1-26 19 and contains a recapitulation, with some modifications and additions of the law already given on Mount Sinai. 3. In the third discourse, De 27:1-30 20 the elders of Israel are associated with Moses. The people are commanded to set up stones upon Mount Ebal, and on them to write "all the words of this law." Then follow the several curses to be pronounced by the Levites on Ebal, De 27:14-26 and the blessings on Gerizim. De 28:1-14 4. The delivery of the law as written by Moses (for its still further preservation) to the custody of the Levites, and a charge to the people to hear it read once every seven years, Deut. 31; the Song of Moses spoken in the ears of the people, De 31:30 ... 32:44 and the blessing of the twelve tribes. De 33:5 The book closes, Deut 34, with an account of the death of Moses, which is first announced to him ch. De 32:48-52 The book bears witness to its own authorship, De 31:19 and is expressly cited in the New Testament as the work of Moses. Mt 19:7,8; Mr 10:3; Ac 3:22; 7:37 The last chapter, containing an account of the death of Moses, was of course added by a later hand, and probably formed originally the beginning of the book of Joshua. [PENTATEUCH]

Read More about Deuteronomy in Smiths Bible Dictionary