Ancient Decapolis - Map of New Testament Israel

DE-CAP`0-LIS (ten cities). An illy defined province of Syria and Israel created by the Romans, lying on both sides of the Jordan but principally on the east. The ten cities it contained according to Pliny were: Scythopolis, Hippos, Gadera, Pella, Philadelphia, Gerasa, Dion, Canatha, Damascus and Raphana, Matt. 4:25; Mark 5:20; 7:31